Parmesan and Walnut Crusted Chicken

← Angels Among Us
Parmesan and Walnut Crusted Chicken with Fresh Pesto on Linguine
Posted on July 24, 2013 by Jackie

The other day I went to a local nursery to replace my curry leaf and kaffir lime plants that I left in Colorado. While I was there, I bought a couple of past-their-prime basil plants for a buck each. Yesterday I made fresh basil walnut pasta and needed to use it or freeze it today. I easily decided to use it on some linguine but wanted something special to accompany it. I had some walnuts left from making the pesto so I looked to see what else I could find in the kitchen. I came up with the ingredients for the crispiest chicken I’ve ever made. It tasted great, too.

Parmesan and Walnut Crusted Chicken

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

1/3 cup walnuts

1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese

2/3 cup panko bread crumbs

1/3 cup rice flour plus extra for dredging…about 1/2 cup

1 egg

1/2 cup buttermilk…you may need a little more if it’s really thick

Canola oil for frying

Pound the chicken breasts flat. If they are really big, you may want to cut them in half after you do this.

In a shallow dish, beat the egg and add the buttermilk. Mix together well.

Put the walnuts in a food processor or other grinder and grind them to a meal like consistency. It’s OK if they make kind of a paste but you’ll have to break it up when you mix it with the other ingredients.

On a plate, mix the walnuts, rice flour, Parmesan, and panko.

Put the extra rice flour on another plate.

Put about a half inch of canola oil in a heavy pan or electric skillet. Heat it to 375 degrees.

While it is getting hot, dredge the chicken breasts in the rice flour. Then dip them in the egg mixture. Make sure you get the egg mixture to stick to the chicken all over. Then dredge the chicken in the walnut/Parmesan mixture before placing it into the hot oil. Cook it about 4 minutes before checking to make sure it has browned well. If it has, flip it over and fry it about 4 minutes on the other side.

As I said, this was the crispiest chicken I’ve ever made. The rice flour gives it more crunch than wheat flour and the other ingredients give it a wonderful flavor.

I’m not going to post a recipe for pesto here. Basically you put fresh basil leaves, garlic, and nuts in a food processor and drizzle in olive oil while it spins. There are tons of recipes on the internet to help you figure out the proportions.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

