Curried Fried Chicken Sandwiches

 

I’ve been in one of those phases in which I get really hungry and nothing I can think of sounds good.  When I get like this, I end up eating whatever’s around and not enjoying it at all. We had some chicken breasts and some left over hamburger buns. I wanted to make some kind of sandwiches to use the buns but I didn’t want just plain old chicken sandwiches. I got a little creative with the ingredients I had on hand and, boy, were these tasty. I enjoyed every bite.

 

Ingredients:

 

2 boneless chicken breasts

 

3 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon curry powder

 

¾ cup buttermilk

 

2/3 cup flour

 

Salt to taste

 

¼ cup mayonnaise

 

half a medium onion cut into rings

 

Oil for frying

 

Hamburger buns or other sandwich buns or rolls. I don’t recommend using plain bread for these.

 

 

Directions:

 

Pound the chicken breasts to about ½ to ¾ inch thickness. You may want to cut them into 2 portions each when you are finished. My buns were small so I did this to make them fit on the bread.

 

Sprinkle a tablespoon of the curry onto the chicken and put it in a zip lock bag or other container that can be tightly sealed.

 

Pour the buttermilk over the chicken and seal it tightly.

 

Leave it at room temperature for at least 45 minutes. Overnight in the refrigerator would be even better but be sure to bring it up to room temperature before cooking.

 

Mix a teaspoon of the curry powder into the mayonnaise and let it set until you are ready to use it. Leave it out of the fridge if you’re going to use in within the hour. Otherwise, cover it tightly and put in in the fridge until you are ready for it.

 

When you’re ready to begin frying the chicken, put about a half inch of oil in your fry pan and bring it up to 375 degrees.

 

Mix the rest of the curry powder with the flour along with a little salt. Dredge the chicken pieces in the flour. Dip them back into the buttermilk then dredge them again. Put each piece into the hot oil as soon as it is dredged. Make sure your oil is up to temperature when you do this. Don’t overcrowd your pan. You don’t want to have to move the chicken around once you put it in the oil. I use my electric skillet for this. It takes a little more oil but it’s big enough that I can fry all the chicken at the same time and have room to put the onions in,too. Watch the chicken carefully. It should take about 4- 5 minutes to turn golden brown. Flip it carefully with tongs. You don’t want to rip the breading off.

 

After turning the chicken, put the onions in the pan with if if you have room without crowding anything. If you don’t have room, you can fry the onions while the chicken is draining.

 

I usually toast or steam my buns because I just don’t like cold ones. After removing the chicken and onions to a rack or paper towel lined plate, spread the mayonnaise on the buns. Then put the chicken on the bottom bun and top it with onions. If you want a little more salt, add it before putting the top bun on the sandwich.

 

I didn’t make any sides to go with these but we both thought that some sweet potato oven fries would have been the way to go.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

