Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup

Sometimes I just don’t want to go to the grocery store.  I especially don’t want to go when there’s about a foot of snow on the ground and it’s starting to melt and get all squishy.  Taking Lani out to do her business is about as  much outdoor time as I want.  This is when I look in the pantry, look in the fridge, look in the freezer, look in the pantry, look in the fridge, look in the freezer……..

I keep hoping for inspiration of some sort and usually I find it.  Today the black beans and a can of pumpkin stood out to me.  I started wondering what the outcome would be if I combined them into a soup.  As usual, I turned to the net to see if anybody else had done so and what kinds of seasonings they might have used.  There were dozens of recipes for pumpkin and black bean soup.  Some had a Mexican flavor. Some were Asian inspired. In fact, just about every cuisine I can think of was represented.  As usual, I read four or five recipes, took another look into the pantry and at my spices then came up with my own version.

Ingredients:

1  fifteen ounce can pumpkin puree

1 and 1/2 cups black beans, drained (You can use canned ones. I didn’t have any so I cooked some first.)

1 can diced tomatoes

1/2 cup onion, roughly chopped

3 or 4 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped (Use as much a or as little as you like.)

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon allspice

1/2 teaspoon cayenne

2 cups stock or water

2 Tablespoons Balsamic vinegar

olive oil to saute’ onions  and garlic

Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

Saute’ onions in a stock pot until they just begin to turn translucent.  Add the garlic and cook about another minute.   Add the pumpkin to the pot and top it with the spices.  Pour tomatoes over it and mix.  It doesn’t have mixed thoroughly.  You just want to get everything incorporated.  Add the water or stock  along with the vinegar and bring it to a boil.  Turn the burner down and simmer for 15 minutes.  Add the beans and simmer another 10 minutes.  Enjoy the aroma.

This soup is amazing, one of the best recipes I’ve come up with in a very long time.  Garnish it with Honey Cumin Yogurt Sauce. Devine!

I also made this flatbread.  I rolled some onion seeds into the dough. It turned out a little bit like flat biscuits.    I was hoping for something with a little more chew.

Leave a comment

Filed under Winter Soups

Leave a Reply

