Green chili & Hominy Stew with Chicken

One of the pleasures of living in New Mexico was getting acquainted with green chili.  It seemed as though at least half of the items on the menu of every eatery had green chilis in them.  You can order a side of green chili with just about anything.  I learned that if I ordered a side of sour cream with my meals, I could usually eat any green chili they brought me but there were a few exceptions when it was so hot that even the sour cream didn’t cool it down enough for me to enjoy it.  I like spice, but don’t give me anything so hot that it sets my mouth on fire and keeps me from tasting anything.

We’re renting a furnished condo from a woman who is spending the winter in Italy teaching.  Among the things she left in the pantry was a can of hominy.  I’ve always kind of liked it, but I seldom think about buying it.  I decided to try to do something with it and came up with this stew.  Is this chicken posole’?

Ingredients:

1 to 1 and a half pounds chicken, cubed  (I used a breast and 2 legs.  I think dark meat makes better stew so dark or a mix works best.)

1/2 cup onion, coarsely chopped

3 cloves of garlic, coarsely chopped

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1  16 ounce can white hominy

1  4 ounce can green chilis

16 ounces of chicken stock

1 cup diced potatoes (I used waxy red ones but russets might make the stew a little thicker.)

1 fresh jalapeño or serrano, diced  (optional)

green chili powder (optional)

oil to cover bottom of stock pot

salt to taste

Chopped cilantro (optional)

Method:

Cover the bottom of the pan with oil and sweat the onions until they turn translucent.

Add the garlic and cook another minute, stirring constantly.

Add cumin.

Add the chicken and let it brown slightly.

Add the stock and the potatoes.

Simmer until the chicken and potatoes are almost done.

Add the hominy, green chilis and the green chili powder. I use the powder because I usually buy mild green chilis and I’m never sure how much flavor they will have.  If you are using a fresh pepper, add it now.

Simmer until the potatoes are soft and the chicken is done.

Garnish with chopped cilantro. If you don’t have cilantro, I’ve found that a sprinkle of freshly ground coriander gives the same flavor.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

